Youth Assistance Advisory Council


The Youth Assistance Advisory Council (YAAC) is governed by a thirteen-member board that is appointed by the Mayor. There are no term limits for YAAC members. YAAC Members must reside or work in the City of Westland. The Youth Assistance Program (YAP) Director reports activities and issues to the YAAC for help and advice. The YAAC assists the YAP Director with necessary community resources.


  • Paul Motz, Director

  • Mark Cesarz
    Term expires: n/a
  • Diane Diem
    Term Expires: n/a
  • Margaret Harlow
    Term expires: n/a
  • Rachel Holden
    Term expires: n/a
  • Vacant
    Term expires: n/a

  • Term expires: n/a
  • James Thomas
    Term expires: n/a
  • Mark McConnell
    Term expires: n/a
  • Douglas North
    Term expires: n/a
  • Blake Perry
    Term expires: n/a
  • Vacant
    Term expires: n/a
  • Matthew Morrow
    Term expires: n/a
  • John Sullivan
    Term expires: n/a
  • Melissa Sampey

Desired Skills

  • Social Work / Education Background
  • Leadership / Mediation Background
  • Youth Assistance / Services Background

Diversity Breakdown

The information provided in the charts below and under each individual Board or Commission was self reported and the City does not warrant the accuracy of the information.

Age Breakdown
Ethnicity Breakdown
YAP Age BreakdownYAP Ethnicity Breakdown
Gender Breakdown
Geography Breakdown
YAP Gender BreakdownYAP Geography Breakdown


Members of the Youth Assistance Advisory Council meet in January, April, and October.
View the Boards and Commission Calendar for meeting information.